Martinez-Araujo Family Undergraduate Scholarship in Optical Sciences

Claudia R. and Elias C. Martinez established the Martinez-Araujo Family Scholarship in Optical Sciences in 2015. This scholarship is their tribute to their respective families, Martinez and Araujo, in gratitude for their set spirit of giving, service and ingenuity. The scholarship supports undergraduate students in optical sciences and engineering at the University of Arizona.

Ardent believers in the value of receiving an education, Claudia and Elias both earned undergraduate degrees in Electrical Engineering from Long Beach State University. Elias also earned an undergraduate degree in Optical Engineering and Sciences from the University of Arizona. Their careers have reached top engineering managerial roles.  

In addition to this scholarship, Claudia, Elias and their sons, Joaquin and Andrew, are among the leading donors to the James Palmer Memorial Scholarship and the Eustace Dereniak Family and Friends scholarship. Dr. Dereniak was Elias’ academic advisor at the Wyant College of Optical Sciences.   

The Martinez-Araujo Family Scholarship in Optical Sciences strives to help undergraduate students reach their maximum potential in academics while also promoting a possible future interest in graduate studies at the Wyant College of Optical Sciences. 


This scholarship is to be awarded to an undergraduate student (junior class) enrolled at the College of Optical Sciences. The scholarship may be renewed for the recipient's senior year if the eligibility requirements are successfully satisfied.

Candidates must be advancing towards a degree in optical engineering and possess a 3.25 GPA or better (on a 4.0 scale) -- with a minimum 3.5 GPA in their core optics courses. Particular consideration will be given to a student whose GPA reflects a significant or continued improvement since the beginning of their enrollment with the College. The candidate must be a citizen of the United States with no previous undergraduate degree on record. Preference is to award this scholarship to a candidate who demonstrates financial need and leadership qualities, such as volunteer activities and/or student groups.


Francisco Calixtro

Maxim Duque

Shane H. Jordan

Luke Somerville

Tyler Mills

Zackary Hatfield