John B. Hayes and Jane C. Quale Graduate Student Endowed Scholarships in Optical Sciences 1, 2 & 3

John B. Hayes' interest in physics, astronomy and telescopes began early in life; he enjoyed building spectroscopes and telescopes, the largest of which was a 12.5-inch Newtonian-Cassegrain. His penchant for science propelled him to earn a B.S. degree in physics and astronomy and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in optics from the University of Arizona. 

After joining WYKO Corp. in 1985, John developed numerous interferometric, scanning probe microscopy and optical metrology products for the optical, data storage and semiconductor markets for 15 years. In 2001, John co-founded 4D Technology, an innovative developer of advanced high-speed, vibration-insensitive interferometers for the aerospace industry. 

Jane C. Quale earned a B.A. in political science from the University of Oregon and a Juris Doctorate in law from the University of San Francisco. In addition to a very successful law practice, she also devotes herself to various community projects. She was once president of the Tucson Waldorf Education Association board of trustees. 

John and Jane established three FoTO scholarship endowments to support graduate students as they pursue excellence with discoveries in light and optics.


This scholarship is open to a first-year graduate student at the College of Optical Sciences. In addition to academic excellence, applicant should demonstrate commitment to scholarship, involvement in extracurricular activities and interests beyond science and technology.  



  • Joshua Teague
  • Lily McKenna

  • Brody McElwain
  • James Taylor
  • Jennifer Bragg

  • Kian Milani
  • Jaclyn John
  • Amit Jha

  • Ryan Hamilton
  • Jacob Trzaska
  • Clarissa DeLeon

  • Jaren Ashcraft
  • Natzem Lima
  • Ravn Jenkins

  • Margarite LaBorde
  • Christian Pluchar
  • Lennon Reinhart

  • Sawyer Miller
  • Nathaniel Birrer

  • Tyler Spear
  • David Vega

  • Ian Arnold
  • Brian Goodell

  • Brian Redman